Skip to content
DoseReady

Program exam rules · Published by Maksym Shevchuk · Updated

Dosage calculation exam rules by nursing program: passing scores, retakes and calculators

Short answer

Of 23 published US nursing program policies DoseReady read in October 2026, 17 state 90% or 100% as the mark, and 20 allow two or three attempts per course or exam. The rest set 85% on one exam, raise the mark in later courses, or set a HESI score or allowed misses instead. Your own syllabus is the one that counts.

Passing scores

Of 23 published US nursing program policies DoseReady read in October 2026, 9 state 100% as the mark and 8 state 90%. Of the other six, one sets 90% on its first exam and 100% in clinical courses, one sets 85% or 90% depending on the exam, and four set a HESI score or a number of allowed misses instead.

A pass mark of 100% means every answer has to be right, rounded to the place the program asks for and, where the program asks for it, written with its unit. Some programs that state 100% still describe how a near miss is scored, so read the policy's own wording, not only the number.

The rules in 23 program policies

These are the rules as each program publishes them, one row per program, with the policy behind each row listed under Sources. “Not stated” means the policy does not say, not that the program has no rule. Programs revise these documents every year, and your own syllabus is the version that counts.

The same table is available as a CSV file, with each row's document and the day it was read.

Dosage calculation exam rules in 23 published US nursing program policies, as read on 2026-10-14. The numbers in the last column are the policy's place in the Sources list.
ProgramTo passAttemptsAfter the last failed attemptCalculatorRoundingMethodTime limitSource
Shawnee State University (OH), ADN and BSN90%3Clinical failure in the courseOnly those the course instructors provideFinal answer only: under one to hundredths, over one to tenths, drops to whole numbersNot statedNot stated[1]
Mercer County Community College (NJ), ADN100% (below it, a second attempt)2, the second on a different version of the examNot stated; the exam counts for 5% or less of the course gradeNot statedWeight to the tenth first, then no rounding until the end; manual drip rates to whole numbers, pump rates to the tenth (2020 guidelines)No method preferred20 questions in 60 minutes[2], [3]
Donnelly College (KS), PN, ADN and BSN90% on the first exam, 100% in clinical courses2Repeat the class, or lose medication-pass points at clinicalNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated[4]
Ogeechee Technical College (GA), PN90%3, with remediation between themMay not progress in the programNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated[5]
Pomeroy College of Nursing at Crouse Hospital (NY), ADN100%3 per course, with remediation between themWithdrawn from the course with a grade of WDFour-function (ExamSoft) calculator onlyRounded appropriately; no specific rule statedDimensional analysis60 minutes[6]
University of Oklahoma Health Sciences (OK), BSN100%Up to 4 in most courses from Summer 2026, with no cap in two (up to 6 for earlier cohorts)Cannot continue in the courseBuilt into the testing softwareNot statedNot stated6 minutes per question (5 to 15 questions)[7]
Florida State University (FL), draft policy100%3, at least 48 hours apartWithdraw from the clinical courseA simple calculator provided, the computer's, or a faculty-approved oneNot statedNot stated60 minutes[8]
University of Texas at Tyler (TX), BSN100%3, then a success planClinical failure if the plan's deadline passesOn-screen or school-provided; no personal calculators or phonesNot statedDimensional analysis, the only method taught10 problems in 60 minutes[9]
Valdosta State University (GA)90%2Drop all clinical courses that semesterNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated (10 to 20 questions)[10]
Monroe Community College (NY), ADN100%3Does not meet standards, and 2 points come off the final theory gradeDepartment-approved calculatorNot statedNot stated10 questions in 50 minutes[11]
Molloy University (NY)90%2 at each of two levels, the retake after remediationCannot progress until passing a remedial course; failing that course ends the nursing majorNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated[12]
Barnes-Jewish College Goldfarb School of Nursing (MO)85% on the ATI Fundamentals exam, 90% on the ATI Adult Medical Surgical exam2, with remediation before the secondWithdrawn from the courseNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated[13]
Northeastern Junior College (CO), ADN100% as stated, though one mistake is scored as a pass3, a pass on a retake earning fewer pointsA dosage calculation course; failing it means counseled withdrawal from the programNot statedNot statedNot required; remediation follows the student's own methodNot stated[14]
Heritage University (WA), BSNA HESI Dosage Calculations score above 9002, with remediation before the secondMedications the next term only under clinical faculty supervisionNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated[15]
Bellevue College (WA), ADN90%3 (2 in NURS 121), at least 24 hours apartCannot give medications in clinical or progress in the programNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated[16]
Rowan-Cabarrus Community College (NC), ADN and PN100%3, with remediation after the first and secondCourse grade of FFaculty-provided, to check written workNot statedNot statedNot stated[17]
The Catholic University of America (DC), BSN90%3, two to three weeks apart, with remediation between themFails the courseNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated[18]
Bellin College (WI), BSN90%2 with remediation, then a third after remediation with the program director (the policy also refers to 4 attempts)Affects passing the first clinical courseNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated[19]
University of Nebraska Medical Center (NE), BSNNo more than one question missedUp to 5 per semester, with remediation between themFailure of the clinical courseNot statedNot statedNot stated (the format is set in each course syllabus)Not stated[20]
Cambridge College of Health & Technology (FL), ASN and BSN100%2, with remediation and tutoring before the secondFailure in the courseNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated[21]
Central Wyoming College (WY), ADNMiss no more than 4, then 3, 2 and 1 of 15 problems, by semester3 per semester; a missed exam counts as an attemptDismissal from the courseA simple calculatorNot statedNot stated15 problems in 60 minutes[22]
Minnesota State Community and Technical College (MN), ADN100%3 per calculation assessmentNot stated beyond: 100% is required to progressThe student's own four-function calculator; no phonesNot statedNot statedNot stated[23]
Riverland Community College (MN), ADN90%3, with remediation between themCourse failureNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated[24]

Retakes and what follows the last one

Every one of the 23 policies allows at least one retake, and 20 allow two or three attempts, counted per course, per exam or per semester as each policy says. The University of Oklahoma sets no cap in two of its courses, and the University of Nebraska Medical Center allows up to five a semester. Many require remediation between attempts, and some count a missed appointment as an attempt.

What follows the last failed attempt includes a two-point deduction from the final theory grade at Monroe Community College, withdrawal from the course at Pomeroy and Barnes-Jewish, and the end of the nursing major at Molloy if a remedial course is not passed.

Calculators

Nine of the 23 policies say which calculator is allowed, and each limits it: a four-function calculator, the one built into the testing software, one the instructors provide, or one the department approves. The others do not say, so ask before the exam.

Rounding, method and time

Few policies spell out a rounding rule; those that do are compared in the rounding rules guide. On method, Pomeroy requires dimensional analysis and UT Tyler teaches it as its only method, which the dimensional analysis guide works through; Mercer County and Northeastern Junior College accept any method, and the rest do not say.

Seven of the 23 policies state a time limit, such as 10 questions in 50 minutes at Monroe Community College, 20 questions in 60 minutes at Mercer County, or six minutes per question at the University of Oklahoma.

If a row is out of date

Each row was read from the program's own document on the day the table's caption gives. If a program has revised its policy, email support@doseready.app with the program's name and the new document, and the row will be corrected.

For what the exam covers and how to prepare for it, see the dosage calculation exam guide.

Practice this

Dosage calculation practice problems with answers

Each problem opens to its worked solution, the answer under a stated rounding rule and the sources it is built from.

Questions

What score do you need to pass a nursing school dosage calculation exam?
It depends on the program. Of 23 published US nursing program policies DoseReady read in October 2026, 9 state 100% as the mark and 8 state 90%. Of the other six, one sets 90% on its first exam and 100% in clinical courses, one sets 85% or 90% depending on the exam, and four set a HESI score or a number of allowed misses instead.
How many times can you retake a dosage calculation exam in nursing school?
Of 23 published US nursing program policies DoseReady read in October 2026, every one allows at least one retake, and 20 allow two or three attempts per course or exam. The University of Oklahoma sets no cap in two courses, and the University of Nebraska Medical Center allows up to five a semester. Many require remediation before a retake.
Can you use a calculator on a nursing dosage calculation exam?
Of 23 published US nursing program policies DoseReady read in October 2026, 9 say which calculator is allowed, and each limits it, for example to a four-function calculator or the one built into the testing software. The others do not say.

Sources

  1. [1]Shawnee State University School of Nursing, Student Handbook 2026-2027, Math Policyshawnee.edu
  2. [2]Mercer County Community College Nursing Education Program, Medication Calculation Exam (revised December 2025)mccc.edu
  3. [3]Mercer County Community College Nursing, Medication Calculation Guidelines (updated September 2020)mccc.edu
  4. [4]Donnelly College, Nursing Student Handbook 2025-2026, Examinations: Pharmacology Dosage Calculationsdonnelly.smartcatalogiq.com
  5. [5]Ogeechee Technical College, Practical Nursing Student Handbook, Medication Calculation Testing Guidelinesogeecheetech.smartcatalogiq.com
  6. [6]Pomeroy College of Nursing at Crouse Hospital, Student Handbook 2026-2027, Dosage and Calculation (pp. 58-60)crouse.org
  7. [7]University of Oklahoma Health Sciences College of Nursing, Administration of Undergraduate Dosage Calculation Examination Policy (effective May 2026)nursing.ouhsc.edu
  8. [8]Florida State University College of Nursing, Policy U-8 Drug Math (2024 revision, approval pending)nursing.fsu.edu
  9. [9]University of Texas at Tyler School of Nursing, Policy 4.3 Medication Administration Exam (effective Summer 2023)uttyler.edu
  10. [10]Valdosta State University College of Nursing and Health Sciences, Medication Dosage Calculation Testing (amended 2022)valdosta.edu
  11. [11]Monroe Community College Nursing, Dosage Calculation Competency Exam Guidelinesmonroecc.edu
  12. [12]Molloy University, Undergraduate Catalog 2026-2027, Nursing Progression Requirements: Drug Calculation Proficiencymolloy.smartcatalogiq.com
  13. [13]Barnes-Jewish College Goldfarb School of Nursing, Student Handbook 2026-2027, Dosage Calculation Exam Policy and Procedurebarnesjewishcollege.smartcatalogiq.com
  14. [14]Northeastern Junior College, ADN Nursing Student Handbook 2026-2027, Academic Policiesnjc.edu
  15. [15]Heritage University Nursing Department, Policy 035 Medication Administration by Students (revised June 2025)heritage.edu
  16. [16]Bellevue College ADN Program, Student Medication Administration Testing Requirement (revision 4, June 2025)bellevuecollege.edu
  17. [17]Rowan-Cabarrus Community College, Nursing Programs Competency Standards (revised March 2023)rccc.edu
  18. [18]The Catholic University of America, Undergraduate Announcements 2026-2027, Conway School of Nursing, Mathematical Calculation Testing Policycatholic.smartcatalogiq.com
  19. [19]Bellin College, Handbook and Catalog 2026-27, Medication Calculation Competency Policycatalog.bellincollege.edu
  20. [20]University of Nebraska Medical Center College of Nursing, Policy 2202 Medication Math Competency Requirements (revised May 2026)catalog.unmc.edu
  21. [21]Cambridge College of Health & Technology, Undergraduate Nursing Student Handbook 2025-2026, Dosage Calculation Examcambridgehealth.edu
  22. [22]Central Wyoming College, Nursing Student Handbook 2026-2027, Medication Calculation Competency (p. 24)cwc.edu
  23. [23]Minnesota State Community and Technical College, ADN and LPN to ADN Bridge Program Policy and Procedure Handbook (Fall 2025), Dosage Calculation Competency (p. 33)minnesota.edu
  24. [24]Riverland Community College, Nursing (RN Track) Dual Admission Student Handbook 2026-2027, Dosage Calculation Policyriverland.edu

No licensed clinician has reviewed this guide. How the guides are made. Exam practice, never for patient care. Follow your program's rules.