Exam prep and program rules · Updated
The dosage calculation exam in nursing school: what is on it and how programs grade it
Short answer
A dosage calculation exam is a short medication math test that many nursing programs require before students give medications in clinical. Each program sets its own rules. In ten published policies, the passing score is 90% or 100%, most allow two to six attempts, and a failed final attempt can cost a clinical course.
What the exam covers
The problems are the everyday calculations of giving medications: converting between units, working out how many tablets or milliliters make up a dose, reconstituting a powder, setting an IV rate in milliliters per hour or drops per minute, timing an infusion, and scaling a dose to a patient's weight.
Programs list their own topics. Florida State University's draft drug math policy, for example, names mL/hr, gtt/min, heparin units per hour converted to mL/hr, reconstitution and mcg/kg/min among its exam objectives. The NCLEX-RN test plan includes "Perform calculations needed for medication administration" among the activities it tests, but the program exam is a separate, earlier test with its own rules.
The weight-based problem below is typical of the format: one order, one weight in pounds, one answer with its unit.
A child weighs 88 lb. The order reads cefazolin 30 mg per kilogram intravenously once before the procedure. How many milligrams are given?
Dimensional analysis
88 × 1 × 30 ÷ 2.2 ÷ 1 = 1,200
Ratio and proportion
Step 1
2.2 lb is to 1 kg as 88 lb is to x
88 × 1 ÷ 2.2 = 40
x = 40 kg
Step 2
1 kg is to 30 mg as 40 kg is to x
40 × 30 ÷ 1 = 1,200
x = 1,200 mg
Formula method
The formula method (D ÷ H × Q) does not fit this problem. The chain above is the working.
- The working comes to
- 1,200 mg
- The answer under the stated rule
- 1,200 mg
- Nearest tenth, half rounds up.
What each slip gives here
- Pounds used as kilograms2,640 mg
- Decimal point one place out12,000 mg or 120 mg
- Conversion factor inverted5,808 mg or 1.3 mg
- Conversion skipped40 mg
How ten programs grade it
There is no national standard. These are the rules as each program publishes them. Programs revise these documents, and your own syllabus is the version that counts.
| Program | To pass | Attempts | After the last failed attempt | Calculator |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Shawnee State University (OH) | 90% | 3 | Clinical failure in the course | Only those the course instructors provide |
| Mercer County Community College (NJ) | 90% in semesters 1 to 3, 100% in semester 4 | 2, with remediation after the first | May receive a clinical failure and dismissal from the course | Not stated in the policy |
| Donnelly College (KS) | 90% on the first exam, 100% in clinical courses | 2 | Repeat the class, or lose medication-pass points at clinical | Not stated in the policy |
| Ogeechee Technical College (GA), practical nursing | 90% | 3, with remediation between them | May not progress in the program | Not stated in the policy |
| Pomeroy College of Nursing at Crouse Hospital (NY) | 100% | 3 per course, with remediation between them | Withdrawn from the course with a grade of WD | Four-function (ExamSoft) calculator only |
| University of Oklahoma Health Sciences (BSN) | 100% | Up to 4 in most courses from Summer 2026, with no cap in two (up to 6 for earlier cohorts) | Cannot continue in the course | Built into the testing software |
| Florida State University (draft policy) | 100% | 3, at least 48 hours apart | Withdraw from the clinical course | A simple calculator provided, the computer's, or a faculty-approved one |
| University of Texas at Tyler | 100% | 3, then a success plan | Clinical failure if the plan's deadline passes | On-screen or school-provided, no personal calculators or phones |
| Valdosta State University (GA) | 90% | 2 | Drop all clinical courses that semester | Not stated in the policy |
| Monroe Community College (NY) | 100% | 3 | Does not meet standards, and 2 points come off the final theory grade | Department-approved calculator |
Rounding, units and zeros
Rounding rules differ as much as passing scores. Shawnee State rounds only the final answer: to hundredths when it is less than one, to tenths when it is more than one, and drops to the nearest whole number. Mercer County converts pounds to kilograms first, rounded to the tenth, and marks a question incorrect if the answer is not rounded to the requested place. The rounding rules guide compares more of them.
Units matter just as much. Shawnee State states that an unlabeled answer will be read as incorrect, and Monroe asks for the number and the label. The University of Oklahoma records the answer as a number only, and gives credit only when the work is shown on the scratch paper provided.
Three of the ten policies, Shawnee State, Mercer County and Pomeroy, also set rules for zeros: always a zero before a decimal point (0.5 mg), and never a zero after a whole-number dose (1 mg). ISMP lists both as error-prone dose designations.
Calculators, methods and time
Six of the ten policies say which calculator is allowed, and each limits it: a four-function calculator, the one built into the testing software, one the instructors provide, or one the department or faculty approves. UT Tyler's policy also rules out personal calculators and phones. The other four policies do not address calculators, so ask.
Some programs require a method. The University of Texas at Tyler teaches dimensional analysis as its only method, and Pomeroy requires it for clinical calculations. Mercer County states that no method is preferred.
Published time limits include ten problems in 60 minutes at UT Tyler, ten in 50 minutes at Monroe, 60 minutes at Pomeroy and at Florida State, and six minutes per question at the University of Oklahoma.
If you do not pass the first time
Every program here offers at least one retake, and some require remediation before it. What happens after the last failed attempt ranges from a two-point deduction to withdrawal from a clinical course, or not progressing in the program. Read the retake policy before the first attempt, and find out whether a missed appointment counts as an attempt: at Pomeroy, a no-call, no-show does.
How to prepare
Practice under your own program's rules. If your syllabus rounds doses under one milliliter to hundredths, practice that rule until it is automatic, and do the same for drops, tablets and pump rates.
Work on paper first and write the unit on every answer, even when your program grades the number alone. Time a set of ten problems against your program's limit. When an answer is wrong, find out which slip produced it; the guide to common mistakes lists six, each with the wrong answer it leaves.
Where points are lost
- 1
Wrong unit: A right number with a missing or wrong unit. Under a policy like Shawnee State's, an unlabeled answer is marked incorrect.
- 2
Rounded to the wrong precision: At Mercer County, an answer not rounded to the requested place is marked incorrect even when the working is right.
- 3
Decimal point one place out: An answer ten times too large or too small. Writing the zero before a decimal point makes this harder to do by accident.
Questions
- What is a dosage calculation exam in nursing school?
- A short test of medication math that many programs require before students give medications in clinical, graded under the program's own passing score and rounding rule. The four policies here that state a length set 5 to 20 problems.
- What score do you need to pass a dosage calculation exam?
- It depends on the program. Among ten published policies, some require 90% and others 100%, and a few raise the bar from 90% to 100% in later courses.
- Can you use a calculator on a dosage calculation exam?
- In the six published policies compared here that address it, yes, but only a specific one: a four-function calculator, the testing software's calculator, one the instructors provide, or one the department or faculty approves. UT Tyler rules out personal calculators and phones.
- What happens if you don't pass the dosage calculation exam?
- Most of the ten policies here allow two to six attempts, often with remediation in between, and one keeps retesting in two courses until the student reaches 100%. After the last failed attempt, consequences range from a point deduction to withdrawal from a clinical course or not progressing in the program.
- How long is a dosage calculation exam?
- Published limits include ten problems in 60 minutes, ten in 50 minutes, 60 minutes for the exam, and six minutes per question.
Sources
- [1]Shawnee State University School of Nursing, Student Handbook 2025-2026, Math Policyshawnee.edu
- [2]Mercer County Community College Nursing, Medication Calculation Exam (effective January 2018)mccc.edu
- [3]Mercer County Community College Nursing, Medication Calculation Guidelines (updated September 2020)mccc.edu
- [4]Donnelly College, Nursing Student Handbook 2025-2026, Examinations: Pharmacology Dosage Calculationsdonnelly.smartcatalogiq.com
- [5]Ogeechee Technical College, Practical Nursing Student Handbook, Medication Calculation Testing Guidelinesogeecheetech.smartcatalogiq.com
- [6]Pomeroy College of Nursing at Crouse Hospital, Student Handbook 2026-2027, Dosage and Calculation (pp. 58-59)crouse.org
- [7]University of Oklahoma Health Sciences College of Nursing, Administration of Undergraduate Dosage Calculation Examination Policy (effective May 2026)nursing.ouhsc.edu
- [8]Florida State University College of Nursing, Policy U-8 Drug Math (2024 revision, approval pending)nursing.fsu.edu
- [9]University of Texas at Tyler School of Nursing, Policy 4.3 Medication Administration Exam (effective Summer 2023)uttyler.edu
- [10]Valdosta State University College of Nursing and Health Sciences, Medication Dosage Calculation Testing (amended 2022)valdosta.edu
- [11]Monroe Community College Nursing, Dosage Calculation Competency Exam Guidelinesmonroecc.edu
- [12]NCSBN, 2026 NCLEX-RN Test Plan (effective April 2026)nclex.com
- [13]ISMP, List of Error-Prone Abbreviations, Symbols, and Dose Designations (2024)online.ecri.org
Exam practice, never for patient care. Follow your program's rules.